- Advertisement -

How to Limit Who Sees Your Instagram Posts and Stories?

0

We are in an era where almost everything involves social media. From mouthwatering images of food down to the picture-perfect beach outings, almost everything is carefully chronicled on the pages of Facebook and Instagram. Anyone with a stable internet connection can see these posts on Instagram.

- Advertisement -

As humans, we all love attention, or don’t you wish that your posts and stories should be limited to only a few people in your circle? Just like Facebook posts? For the newbies, Facebook allows you to customize your friend’s list for your photos.

Let’s go back to the main question, does Instagram allow you to limit the visibility of your posts? Your answer is as good as mine. No!

Although Instagram does not have any feature as of now to limit or alter the visibility of your posts. It’s either all your followers will be able to see your posts or not. In short, there is no middle ground when it comes to post visibility, and it’s in black and white.

However, there’s a workaround that you can do to achieve that which you want. That is the purpose of this article. Let’s go.

1. Archive or Hide your old posts

If you are fond of people going through your old posts, you might want to opt for archiving of your photos instead. That way, your photos will be on Instagram, but no one will be able to see them on your Profile.

To hide your Instagram post, tap on the three-dot button found on the top right corner of your post and hit the Archive option. This will make the photo to disappear from your Profile magically.

And whenever you need it back, go back to your Profile and then select the Archive button at the top-right corner. Touch the drop-down button, and choose Archive Posts. This action makes your entire collection of Archived posts to become visible.

However, when you want to share an image again, you will need to tap and hold a picture and then hit on the Show on Profile option, and you are good to go.

You have no business rewriting the caption or adding relevant hashtags again. The app will take care of it for you. It’s that simple.

Note: The Saving options must be set to Save to Archive for this feature to work. To do this, navigate to Settings >> Privacy and Security >> Story Controls and then toggle the switch for Save to Archive.

2. Hide your Activity Status

Instagram’s Last Seen feature does not show next to posts, and it’s hidden away in the DM section. But it still won’t stop followed by knowing when you were last active.

To hide the activity status, you can go to your Profile and tap on the three-dot menu found at the top-right corner of your screen. Then go to Settings >> Privacy and Security >> Activity Status and go ahead to toggle the switch off.

3. Block Followers

- Advertisement -

Are your followers hateful with their comments on your photos if yes, the best option is to blacklist them from your Profile? Next time you post a new picture, these selected users won’t be able to see them.

To block a person on Instagram, you can search for the person on Instagram and then tap on the three-dot button and then hit on Block.

Another option you can follow is to block comments for some posts. To do so, open an image then tap on the three-dot menu and select on Turn Off Commenting.

4. Switch to Private Profile

This is advisable only in extreme cases. You can choose who sees and comments on your images and photos. At the same time, it makes it easy to kick out annoying followers.

To make this happen, go to Settings > Privacy and Security >> Account Privacy and then toggle the switch on.

What about Instagram Stories

Compared to Posts, Instagram Stories doesn’t follow the same process. It lets you limit the audience of stories to the people of your choice. The Close Friends list is based on the creator’s decision, and the people on the ‘other’ list won’t be aware that you have blocked them.

All you have to do is to create a list manually and once it’s done, tap on the green-circle when sharing a story.

Additionally, you can create and edit this list as per your choice. However, the exciting feature is that even after creating a highlight from a Close Friends story, it won’t be visible to everyone. Only the selected few will be able to see it on your Profile.

To create a list, tap on the Hamburger icon and select Close Friends. Then choose the followers you want to keep, hit on Done and you are good to go.

And at the same time, you can also choose to hide a story from some of your followers. To do this, head to Settings >> Privacy and Security >> Story Controls then tap on Hide Story From and select the followers.

You can block out all negativity

The main point of this is: Instagram does not let you limit your post’s visibility. But there are some workaround or precaution you can take. So, whether it’s a noisy relation or a hateful follower, you can always choose to block them out one way or another.

One of the best approaches is to create stories and share them with your trusted circle. And if you want to make something permanent, you can use Highlight. Works like magic even though it’s not a permanent solution, but yeah it gets the work done.

Tell us what you think about this article. Share your thoughts with us by using the comments section below.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.